REVIEW • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

TOG

TITLE: Throne of Glass

AUTHOR: Sarah J. Maas

SERIES: Throne of Glass #1

PUBLICATION: August 2, 2012

PUBLISHER: Bloomsbury

FORMAT: Paperback

PAGES: 404

SOURCE: Owned

IMG_8249(goodreads.com)

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

IMG_8251

This book has long been in my TBR ever since positive reviews spread through the internet like wildfire. To be honest, I felt intimidated at first, since the series already has four out of six books out, and I knew that Sarah J. Maas didn’t write short novels. But somehow, her upcoming booksigning here in our country has pushed me to begin reading the series during every single free minute I get. And I have to admit that I loved every minute I had while I was reading this magnificent book.

Words aren’t enough to express all the feelings that I got while reading. The thrill was constantly there, sided with the element of surprise, and it was more than enough to keep me glued to my seat and keep my eyes devouring her words as my fingers switched pages. To say that I adored this book is an understatement. I loved it. So freaking much.

As the first book in a series, this one created the world of Erilea so perfectly. Sarah took no time dragging along with the story and just went on with it with the flow, the events, and with her wonderful characters. Having been read ACOTAR and not loving it this much made me realize that it was as if Sarah used completely different writing styles between the two books. I didn’t feel the pace slow here at all, and never have I ever felt my interest waver. This book got me thinking that this might be the Sarah J. Maas I’ve been looking for, and I’m so glad to have found her by reading this book.

And as for the plot of the story, all I can say is that it was so marvelous. It was so unique and well thought out and was really easy to get into. As the story moved along, mysteries arose and demanded answers. And while they weren’t solved then and there, the way Sarah has written how the characters arrived at the mysteries’ solutions were magnificent. The ride along this book was enjoyable, interesting, and one you might never want to get off of.

Aside from the plot, the characters also play a vital role in being the ones who play the parts demanded in the story, and then again, Sarah created such beautiful and characters. They weren’t hard to reach at all, and I could feel how real they are whilst reading. Celeana Sardothien, the main character in the story, the assassin, was deadly yet adorable at the same time. At some point in the story, some part of her immaturity surfaced and from there I felt how real she was. She was just seventeen afterall, and her attitude makes her works justifiable. And Chaol Westfall. Omg. I just swoon over him when I read his words to Celaena every time. My heart ached for him, and I just wanted him to be happy. And yup, I might be on that Chaolaena ship if you wanted to know where I stood. Who doesn’t love ‘arrogant at first but is really sweet once you get to know him more’ book guys? His protectiveness over Celaena made me feel giddy, and oh I love it when they share moments together. But I must say that it was kinda hard to take sides when you have Dorian Havilliard as the other guy. He, too, was so adorable. It was as if he acted as Celaena’s anchor, keeping her from doing rash things that might hurt her. He was a true prince, and who wouldn’t love a guy like that too?

Overall, the story proved to be promising. I read this book with high expectations, knowing that many people loved the series, and I’m so happy because Throne of Glass even exceeded those high expectations. I feel very grateful to have read a book as wonderful as this, and i can already see myself listing this as one of my favorite series ever in the near future. I am so excited to continue along with Celaena’s journey in Crown of Midnight.


I want to give this book all the stars, is that even possible?

IMG_8258


img_0031

SarahSarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. A Court of Mist and Fury, the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, will release on May 3rd, 2016.

A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Author Links

Website │ Twitter │ Instagram


IMG_8340

3 thoughts on “REVIEW • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Great review Jaymee! If you loved Throne of Glass just wait until you read the other three! Crown of Midnight was even more amazing and Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows were pure awesomeness. Sarah has matured so much as a writer ever since the first book! And there are some new characters making appearances in Heir of Fire that I think you’re going to love! Also, after four books I still cannot decide between Chaol and Dorian although I think I’m leaning a bit towards team Dorian to be honest. Which is why the ending of Heir of Fire killed me. Hope you’ll the rest of the series as much as I did, and you should definitely prepare yourself for the feels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Demmi! Omg I loved this book so much and what you said just makes me more excited for her next books. Her love triangle though, it’s really killing me, even though it’s still the first book. 😅 but yeah, I’m kinda leaning onto Team Chaol. And I know this series would be one awesome ride 💪🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yep, things are going to get even more interesting later on. I’m not gonna say anything cause I don’t want to spoil the other books for you but I can say it’s definitely gonna be an emotional ride!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

