REVIEW • Confess by Colleen Hoover

Confess

 TITLE: Confess

AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover

PUBLICATION: March 10, 2015

PUBLISHER: Atria Books

FORMAT: Paperback

PAGES: 306

SOURCE: Owned

IMG_8249(goodreads.com)

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

IMG_8251

Before reading this book, I saw myself a year ago, scanning across a bookstore for new books that would appeal to me, and then seeing this and deciding that it was not for me due to its premise and because I wasn’t into contemporary that much before. But that was also before I read any of Colleen’s books, so that might have clouded my judgment on this book. After I read and loved five of her works, I decided to try this book out, and also for the reason that my book club the Bookaholic Alliance came up with this book as our February book of the month.

When I started reading the book, I slowly realized something weird happening. I didn’t find it much gripping as I normally would find a Colleen Hoover book even at its early parts. I became easily distracted in doing other things because this book simply didn’t suck me into Auburn and Mason’s world like Miles and Tates’ book sucked me right through their world. At most parts of the book, I keep on finding myself comparing Confess with the other CoHo books I actually loved, and there I knew that something was quite wrong. I wasn’t enjoying Confess as much as I expected and wanted to.

Colleen’s writing, as always, was perfect. The way her characters exchanged words and banter was really lovely, and I sometimes just laugh over Owen’s remarks and Auburn’s reactions because they’re really adorable. They were written by Colleen so wonderfully. And what I loved most about this book were the confessions. I loved the idea so much, but some confessions there just made me sad especially when I knew that those confessions were actually submitted by anonymous readers.

Auburn Mason Reed as the lead female character in the book was alright.  I didn’t find her that remarkable primarily because she lacked her fighting spirit at the early parts of the book. I felt like she couldn’t have made a decision which she actually stood for until the end of the story. She wasn’t as feisty as I expected her to be, and I really didn’t love Auburn as a character because I didn’t feel like she was able to inspire women out there to never be afraid to make decisions that would make them happy.

Owen Mason Gentry, on the other hand, was also alright. I may have found him actually sweet and swoon-worthy at some parts of the book, but still incomparable to Benton James Kessler, Miles Archer, and Ridge. I honestly found him a bit creepy at first, but slightly predictable. And my other issue is with the insta-love in the book. I find them awful and unrealistic, all the more making Auburn and Owen very hard to reach characters.

In the end, the book proved to be a fairly good one. I had expected this to be really good because I always loved Colleen’s books, but I only ended up being slightly disappointed. Colleen’s writing style, did redeem the book for me, although the plot itself kinda became an issue. Plus, Trey was really creepy, and I felt awfully uncomfortable whenever he came on the scene. But, I’m still happy that I got to read this book though. Although I also won’t be recommending it as much as I recommended my friends Maybe Someday, November 9 and Ugly Love. 


3.25 out of 5 stars!

IMG_8260


img_0031colleen-hoover-408567071_banner

Colleen Hoover is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Slammed, This Girl, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, Losing Hope, Finding Cinderella, Maybe Someday, Ugly Love, Maybe Not, and Confess. She lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys. Please visit ColleenHoover.com.

IMG_8340

3 thoughts on “REVIEW • Confess by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

